This is the "Home" page of the "Advocacy & Dispute Resolution Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
The John Marshall Law School - Louis L. Biro Library
Quick Links

Advocacy & Dispute Resolution Resources  

This guide provides links and descriptions to many of the library's resources related to advocacy and dispute resolution, including trial advocacy, client counseling, negotiation, mediation, arbitration, evidence and professional responsibility.
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.jmls.edu/advocacy-dispute Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide provides links and descriptions to many of the library's resources related to advocacy and dispute resolution, including print materials available in the library, electronic databases and audio-visual materials. 


 

Database Access

Many resources listed in these guides are available electronically via our subscription databases. Current JMLS Students, Staff & Faculty are able to access these resources with their JMLS network ID & password.  Other resources, such as Westlaw and Lexis, require individual user accounts and passwords.

 

New database: Mauet Trial Practice Library on Lois Law

We have recently acquired the Mauet Trial Practice Library, an electronic collection of Thomas Mauet's best known trial treatises and practice guides available via Lois Law (under Treatise Library < Mauet Trial Practice Library).  Resources in this collection include:

Trial Techniques breaks the trial process down into its critical components and includes examples illustrating strategies for opening statements, jury selection, direct- and cross-examination, exhibits, objections, and more.

Trials: Strategy, Skills, and the New Powers of Persuasion covers trial theory and practice, emphasizing the jurors’ perspective, the increased necessity of an effective opening statement, and the importance now given to visual presentation at trial. 

Trial Evidence takes the point of view of the trial judge; authors Mauet and Wolfson explore the methods, strategies, and tactics of trial evidence through an analytical approach that reveals how judges and trial lawyers think about evidentiary rules—particularly the Federal Rules of Evidence.

PreTrial presents a methodology for trial preparation, and reviews the procedural rules and thought processes a litigator should utilize before and during each stage of the process.

29 portfolios addressing different legal topics that concern aging clients

 

29 portfolios addressing different legal topics that concern aging clients

 

 

New Database: CVN Video Training Library

Courtroom View Network's Video Training Library streams online real trial video highlights with commentary and analysis keyed to a breakdown of trial advocacy and litigation training topics. 

The videos can be accessed from anywhere at: http://lawschool.courtroomview.com/ Then click on “Video Training Library” at the top of the screen.  Current JMLS students, faculty and staff will need to register with the site using a jmls.edu email address in order to access the videos.

The videos are organized into the following categories:

  • Opening Statements: 
  • Direct Exam
  • Direct of Expert
  • Cross Exam
  • Closing Arguments
  • Rebuttal
 

Contact a Librarian

 

Request a Research Appointment

Need more help? Reference librarians are available to meet with JMLS students in one-on-one sessions (or in small groups) to discuss research strategies, recommend relevant resources or review specific topics of legal research. 

Fill out a request form and a librarian will get back to you to set up an appointment.   We ask that you request your appointment at least 2 days in advance, but remember that you can always stop by the reference desk for immediate help with a quick research question.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip