Skip to main content

Chinese Intellectual Property Guide: Overview

Introduction

This guide provides an overview of Chinese intellectual property resources available to patrons at the Louis L. Biro Law Library at the John Marshall Law School.

The Library has a unique collection of Chinese IP materials in Chinese, in addition to materials in English. The in-Chinese materials are located on the 10th floor in the China IP collection. The majority of the China IP collection are donations from the State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) of the People’s Republic of China, materials not found elsewhere in the United States.

The JMLS Chinese Intellectual Property Resource Center is located elsewhere at John Marshall.

Chinese Materials -- In Chinese

Chinese Intellectual Property materials are generally found in the call number range KNQ1155--KNQ1256. The majority of the China IP collection are donations from the State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) of the People’s Republic of China, materials not found elsewhere in the United States.

If they are solely in Chinese, they will be in the Chinese IP Collection on 10; if they are in English, they will be on 10 among the other international books.

Our catalog system has all Chinese characters have to converted into Pinyin. Pinyin is the Romanization system for standard mandarin. Because it is phonetic, all Chinese speakers can search title or author, publisher, etc. by Pinyin.

The complete listing of titles in this collection is available here, in call number order. The JMLS Chinese Intellectual Property Resource Center also has a listing of the books in the collection, with additional information.

Additional Chinese IP Materials

Chinese Intellectual Property materials are generally found in the call number range KNQ1155--KNQ1256.

If they are solely in Chinese, they will be in the Chinese IP Collection on 10; if they are in English, they will be on 10
among the other international books.

Chinese-English Dictionaries

Contact a Librarian

Request a Research Appointment

Need more help? Reference librarians are available to meet with JMLS students in one-on-one sessions (or in small groups) to discuss research strategies, recommend relevant resources or review specific topics of legal research. 

Fill out a request form and a librarian will get back to you to set up an appointment.   We ask that you request your appointment at least 2 days in advance, but remember that you can always stop by the reference desk for immediate help with a quick research question.

 

Where are Chinese IP Materials?

Chinese Intellectual Property materials are generally found in the call number range KNQ1155--KNQ1256.

If they are solely in Chinese, they will be in the Chinese IP Collection on 10; if they are in English, they will be on 10, among the other international materials.

Related Subject Headings include:

Intellectual property -- China
 
Copyright -- China

Patents -- China

Foreign licensing agreements

Trademarks -- China

Trade secrets -- China

Competition, Unfair -- China

Search the Library Catalog

Enter Search Keyword(s):