Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Access to Library Resources: Home

This guide covers resources available to you while access to campus is limited.

Using the Library Website

You should access databases and e-books through the library website unless it has an individual log-in, like Westlaw, Lexis, or Bloomberg. You will need your NetID and password to log in through our proxy server. 

Main Campus Library Materials

You have access to many resources through the University Library. Searching in the "Library Search" bar will return results in journals, databases, books and media, and more. You can also search for specific databases and journals

Accessing Databases from Off Campus

You can access any of the databases that the library subscribes to from most places that you have an internet connection, but there is one extra step you must take to do so if you are not connected to the on-campus network.

Navigate to the database or resource you want to use through the library's website. After clicking the link, you will be asked to provide your NetID and password to log in through our proxy server and access subscription databases from off campus. Note that many workplaces employ firewalls that will prevent access.

Finding and Accessing e-Books Through the JMLS Library

E-books are cataloged in the general collection at the library. When you conduct a search for materials, e-books will be included in your results with the print materials. In order to access the e-book, you will need to click on the "Website" icon in the search results or the “JMLS users only” link in the item record.

On the next page, enter your NetID and password to access the e-book. You can read the book online or download a limited number of pages. Should you choose the latter, you may be prompted to request the book.

Contacting the Librarians

If you would like to reach a librarian, email law-library@uic.edu. If needed, we can hold one-on-one consultations online. Contact us by email to set that up.