Skip to main content

Form Finder: Estate Planning

General Resources

Estate planning-related forms can be found in a number of general treatises and form books, as well as in resources specific to estate planning.  The following general sources provide sample estate planning forms:

American Jurisprudence Legal Forms 2d.  Lawyers Cooperative Publishing Co. (1971-).  Many chapters in this multi-volume set address specific topics within the broad field of estate planning, including, but not limited to, spendthrift trusts and descent and distribution.  Forms related to some commonly researched areas of estate planning law can be found in the following chapters: Chapter 101 (Estates), Chapter 104 (Executors and Administrators), Chapter 251 (Trusts) and Chapter 266 (Wills)The library no longer maintains this set in print; however, it is available via Westlaw.

Current Legal Forms with Tax Analysis.  M. Bender (1948-).  KF 170 .R113 - 10th fl.  (a/k/a Rabkin & Johnson).  A number of chapters in this resource address topics related to estate planning.  The following chapters provide forms in some commonly researched areas of estate planning law: Chapter 7 (Wills), Chapter 7A (Estate Planning for Businesses), Chapter 7B (Estate Planning for Community Property), Chapter 8 (Revocable Trusts) and Chapter 9 (Irrevocable Trusts).  Available via LexisNexis.

Estate Planning Forms.  ABA (2009).  KF 748.1 H86 - 10th fl.  Covers all elements of estate planning in detail with easy-to-follow, time-saving forms.  Forms include: letters of engagement, privacy notice, powers of attorney, wills, pre and post-marital agreements, and trusts.  CR-Rom available on reserve.

Estate Planning: Forms, Practice and Tax AnalysisEstate Planning: Forms, Practice, and Tax Analysis offers a comprehensive guide to asset-protection techniques, including the use of wills; living trusts; gifts in trust; insurance trusts; estate and gift tax returns; gifts of purchases of stock; and more.  Available via LexisNexis

Loislaw Estate Planning Library--Forms and Checklists.  This database contains nearly 100 forms culled from Aspen titles, Practical Guide to Esetate Planning and Price on Contemporary Estate Planning. 

Midwest Transaction Guide.  M. Bender (1980- ).  KFI 1268 M55 - 9th fl.  Unit IV of this resource addresses estate planning and provides forms related to topics such as wills, gifts and trusts.  Available via LexisNexis.

West's Legal Forms - Estate Planning and Probate.  West (2003-).  Includes the estate planning-related content of the 61 volume set, West's Legal Forms, including sample forms and provisions.  The library no longer maintains this set in print; however, it is available via Westlaw.

Form Books

Asset Protection: Legal Planning, Strategies and Forms.  Warren Gorham & Lamont  (2001-).  KF9025 .S67 2001 – 10th fl.  Companion CD-ROM available on reserve.

Drafting Wills and Trust Agreements.  3rd ed.   Shepard’s/ McGraw-Hill (1995-).  KF755.A65 W54 1995 – 10th fl.  This 4-volume set provides checklists, commentary and forms for all aspects of wills and trust agreements including irrevocable and revocable trusts, wills and joint and community property agreements.

ElderLaw Forms Manual: Essential Documents for Representing the Older Client.  Little, Brown (1992-).  KF390.A4 M37 – 10th fl.  This loose-leaf manual contains 20 chapters with more than 100 forms covering: managing the elder law practice estate and long-term care planning, powers of attorney, medical directives and wills and trusts.

Irrevocable Trusts, Analysis with Forms. Warren, Gorham & Lamont (1998- ).  KF 730.E83 – 10th fl.  One-volume loose-leaf provides more than 40 forms and checklists for a variety of irrevocable and related trusts.  Companion CD-ROM available on reserve.

Living Trusts: Forms and Practice.  M. Bender (1993-).  KF734.B53 1995 – 10th fl.  1-volume loose-leaf with sample forms on CD-Rom.  Also available via LexisNexis.

Page on the Law of Wills : including probate, will contests, evidence, taxation, conflicts, estate planning, forms, and statutes relating to wills. Anderson Pub. Co. (2000-).  KF 755.P146x 2000 - 10th fl.  This seven-volume set has one full volume containing more than 80 chapters of forms and clauses pertaining to wills and trusts.  In addition, the treatise accompanied by Anderson’s Estate Planning Forms and Clauses on CD-Rom.  Also available via LexisNexis.

Accessing Sources in Lexis

If you are unfamiliar with accessing sources in Lexis Advance or would like a refresher in doing so, please visit this brief guide.

Search the Library Catalog

Enter Search Keyword(s):