Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Employee Benefits Research: General Sources

Introduction

The following sources provide broad analysis of employee benefits laws or aspects thereof.  Because ERISA is the major statute regulating employee benefit plans, a number of sources listed under the ERISA - Secondary Sources tab will provide similarly broad analysis.

Dictionaries, Glossaries and Nutshells

Benefits and Compensation Glossary, Patricia A. Bonner, ed. (12th ed. 2010) 10th floor - KF3509.A6 B36 2010.

With over 2,500 terms and 800 acronyms, Benefits and Compensation Glossary provides the most complete list of employee benefit terms available.

Employee Benefit Plans in a Nutshell, Jay Conison (2003)  6th floor - Academic Success & Reserve - KF 3512.Z9 C68 2003

This comprehensive reference guide provides a condensed treatment of many of the major topics included in employee benefits.

Treatises and Handbooks - General

Coverage and Nondiscrimination Answer BookThomas E. Poje, Frank J. Bitzer and Bernadine Topazio (4th ed. Aspen Publishers 2009).  Last updated 6/2010.  Available via IntelliConnect.

This reference guide focuses on the participation, coverage, nondiscrimination, and compliance requirements that must be met to ensure a plan's qualified status.

Employee Benefits Answer Book, Dorinda D. DeScherer and Terence M. Myers (10th ed. Aspen Publishers 2010).  Updated annually.  Available via IntelliConnect. 

The Employee Benefits Answer Book is arranged in question and answer format with wide coverage and plain-language explanations.  The guide covers employee welfare plan design, administration and funding, including the latest changes to COBRA, ERISA, FMLA, ADA and IRC. 

Employee Benefits Handbook, Jeffrey D. Mamorsky (4th ed. 1995-date) 10th floor -  KF 3509 .E56 1995 , also available via Westlaw.

This handbook has clear and complete explanations of complex employee benefits statutes and regulations. The handbook illustrates the steps to be taken to keep a plan in compliance and the company out of court. Topics include FMLA, COBRA, employee benefit plan accounting, reporting to regulatory agencies, and tax considerations for qualified retirement plans.

Employee Benefits Law (2nd ed. BNA 2000- ) 10th floor - KF 3509.E58 2000.  Kept up to date with periodic supplements.  Also available via BNA.

Written by members of the ABA Section of Labor and Employment Law, this title provides annotated coverage by distinguished members of the ABA Section of Labor and Employment Law who provide careful analysis and explanations of ERISA Titles I and IV; rules of tax qualification, deductibility, and other key tax issues; interplay with related legal areas—including employment discrimination and labor relations.

Employee Benefits Law: ERISA and Beyond, Jeffrey D. Mamorsky (1980-date) 10th floor - KF 3512 .M36.

Employee Fringe and Welfare Benefit Plans, Michael J. Canan and William D. Mitchell (1990-date) 10th floor - KF3512 .E47, also available via Westlaw.

This book discusses major types of employee fringe and welfare benefit plans available under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA).

Employer's Guide to Fringe Benefit Rules, Annette J. Guarisco and Mary B. Hevener (1994-date) 10th floor - KF3509 .G82, also available via Westlaw. 

Multistate Guide to Benefits Law, John F. Buckley (2011 ed. Aspen Publishers 2010).  Available via IntelliConnect.

This is the comprehensive guide you need if your question involves benefits in more than one state.