Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Employee Benefits Research: Litigation

Treatises, Handbooks and Newsletters

The following sources address the litigation of issues related to ERISA and employee benefits:

DRI: ERISA Litigation PrimerDefense Research Institute, 2004, available via Westlaw.

Contains documents from the 2004 DRI ERISA Litigation Primer.

ERISA Litigation, Jayne E. Zanglein and Susan J. Stabile (BNA, 3rd ed. 2008) 10th floor - KF 3512 .Z36 2008, also available via BNA.

ERISA Litigation Reporter, LegalWorks, available via Westlaw.

A bimonthly newsletter that covers developments related to ERISA, including benefits claims, class actions, preemption, fiduciary responsibility, taxation, multi-employer plans, cash balance plans, disability and ADA claims, and health plan litigation. Coverage begins with April 2000.

ERISA Practice and LitigationPolk, Lee T.,  KF 3512 .A6 P65 1993 – 10th fl.  Also available via Westlaw.

This multi-volume loose-leaf provides comprehensive coverage of the formation, administration, and compliance of ERISA plans.

Handbook on ERISA Litigation, Jorden, James F.,  KF 3512 .J67 2007 – 10th fl.

The handbook contains comprehensive, timely analysis of the statutes, current caselaw, procedural rules, and substantive issues that can arise in ERISA litigation.

Managed Care Litigation, KF 1184.H4 M348 2005 – 10th fl.  Companion CD-ROM available on Reserve.

This treatise offers in-depth analysis of all the important issues in managed care litigation. It provides both a basic overview and a comprehensive examination of the legal issues facing managed care practitioners.