Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advocacy & Alternative Dispute Resolution: Trial Evidence and Objections

This guide provides links and descriptions to many of the library's resources related to advocacy and dispute resolution, including trial advocacy, client counseling, negotiation, mediation, arbitration, evidence and professional responsibility.

General

Trial evidence materials can be located in a wide range of sources including multi-volume evidence treatises, one-volume evidence texts, and specific trial evidence texts. These are listed out below. In addition evidence texts are generally found in the call number range KF8931-KF8969 and KF9660-KF9678. Related Subject Headings include: Evidence (Law) -- United States, Evidence, Criminal -- United States, Evidence, Expert -- United States, Examination of witnesses -- United States.

Multi-Volume Treatises

Barbara E. Bergman & Nancy Hollander, Wharton’s Criminal Evidence (15th ed. 1997-date) 10th floor - KF9660 .W555 , available in Westlaw

David L. Faigman et al., Modern Scientific Evidence (annual) 10th floor - KF8961 .F35

Clifford S. Fischman, Jones on Evidence: Civil & Criminal (7th ed. 1992-date) 10th floor - KF 8935 .J711

Paul C. Giannelli & Edward J. Imwinkelried, Scientific Evidence (4th ed. 2007-date) 10th floor - KF8961 .G53 , available in Lexis

Michael H. Graham, Handbook of Federal Evidence (6th ed. 2006-date) 6th floor Reserve - KF8935 .G73, available in Westlaw

Edward J. Imwinkelried et al., Courtroom Criminal Evidence (4th ed. 2005-date) 10th floor - KF9660 .C68 , available in Lexis

McCormick on Evidence (Kenneth S. Broun ed., 6th ed. 2006) 6th floor Reserve & Academic Success - KF8935 .M135

Christopher B. Mueller & Laird C. Kirkpatrick, Evidence: Practice Under the Rules (2d ed. 1999-date) 10th floor - KF8935 .M845

Christopher B. Mueller & Laird C. Kirkpatrick, Federal Evidence (3d ed. 2007-date) 10th floor - KF8935 L93, available in Westlaw

The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence (Richard D. Friedman ed., 2004-date) 10th floor - KF8935 W542  

Stephen A. Saltzburg et al., Federal Rules of Evidence Manual (9th ed. 2006-date) 10th floor - KF8935 .S24, available in Lexis

Weinstein's Federal Evidence (Joseph M. McLaughlin ed., 1997-date) 10th floor - KF8935 .W433, available in Lexis

John Henry Wigmore et al., Evidence in Trials at Common Law (4th ed. 1961-date) 10th floor -  KF8935 .W639

One-Volume Evidence Treatises & Hornbooks

Clifford S. Fishman, Jones on Evidence (7th ed.).  Available online via Westlaw.

McCormick on Evidence (Kenneth S. Broun ed., 6th ed. 2006) 6th floor Reserve & Academic Success - KF8935 .W639

Christopher B. Meuller, Evidence: Practice under the Rules.  Also available online via Loislaw under Treatise Library Evidence Library.

Roger Park et al., Evidence Law: a student's guide to the law of evidence as applied in American trials (2d ed. 2004) 10th floor & 6th floor Academic Success KF8935 .P368 2004

Jack B. Weinstein & Margaret A. Berger, Student edition of Weinstein's evidence manual : a guide to the Federal Rules of Evidence, based on Weinstein's Federal evidence (2003) 6th floor Academic Success - KF8935 .W4341 2003, available in Lexis

Glen Weissenberger & James J. Duane, Weissenberger’s Federal Evidence, available in Lexis

Trial Evidence and Objections Texts

Federal Trial Evidence (2nd ed.).  James Publishing, c.1996- .   KF8935.D54 1996- 10th Fl.   Includes CR-Rom.  Updated through 2009.

Objections at Trial (5th ed.).  National Institute for Trial Advocacy, c2008.  KF8935.B75 2008 10th Fl.  Includes CD-Rom.  Updated through 2008.

A Practical Guide to Federal Evidence: Objections, Responses, Rules, and Practice Commentary(9th ed.).  National Institute for Trial Advocacy, c2009.  KF8935.B62 2009 10th Fl. 

A Student's Guide to Trial Objections (3rd ed.).  Thomson West 2010 KF8935.Z9G46 2010 Acad. 

Trial Evidence (4th ed.).  Aspen Publishers, c2009.  KF8935.M38 2009 10 Fl.  Includes CD-Rom.  Also available online via Loislaw under Treatise Library > Mauet Trial Practice Library.

Trial Hearsay: Objections & Exceptions.  James Publishing, c1996- .  KF8969.D65 1996- . Includes CD-Rom.  Last updated 2008.

Trial Objections (3rd ed.). James Publishing, 1995- .  KF8935.D65 1995 (looseleaf) 10th Fl.  Includes CD-Rom.

Trial Objections HandbookWest Thomson 2001 - .  KF8935.P37 2001- (looseleaf) 10th Fl. Print last updated in 2008.