Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advocacy & Alternative Dispute Resolution: Appellate Procedure

This guide provides links and descriptions to many of the library's resources related to advocacy and dispute resolution, including trial advocacy, client counseling, negotiation, mediation, arbitration, evidence and professional responsibility.

Treatises and Manuals

NOTE:  Federal and state court rules of appellate procedure can be viewed at a court's website.  In addition, annotated versions of rules of appellate procedure appear as part of a print set of annotated statutes for a jurisdiction or in the corresponding database on LexisNexis or Westlaw

Appellate Court Procedures 1999.  Free online via National Center for State Courts website.  This report provides a comparative analysis of appellate courts including their organization, the steps that appeals follow in each court, the size and composition of the appellate bench, and the management of the appellate court.

Federal Appeals: Jurisdiction and Practice KF 9050.T54 1999- 10th fl.  Provides practice-proven tips and advice on bringing an appeal efficiently and profitably and it offers tactics and discusses procedures for structuring winning arguments.  Kept up to date with annual pocket part. Also available on Westlaw.

Federal Appellate Practice KF 9050.F43 2008 10th fl.  This work is authored by the Supreme Court and Appellate Practice group at Mayer, Brown.  It is a companion to The Supreme Court, Ninth edition.  It contains chapters on all aspects of federal appellate practice.  Each chapter is intended to be a self-contained unit.

Federal Appellate Practice and Procedure in a Nutshell.  KF9050.C376 2008 ACAD.  Designed for law students and general practitioners, this product provides thorough and up-to-date coverage of the major issues facing an advocate in the federal courts of appeals and the U.S. Supreme Court.

Federal Court of Appeals Manual: A Manual on Practice in the United States Courts of Appeal KF 9052.K63 2007- Reserve.  Dedicated to answering questions concerning practice in the United States courts of appeals.  Provides exhaustive discussion of appellate procedure, tactics and techniques.  Also includes many checklists and court-ready forms.

Federal Standards of Review  KF 4575.C48 1999-  10th fl.  Federal Standards of Review provides a comprehensive analysis of the review process in civil, criminal and administrative cases. Know exactly how to evaluate a matter brought before the court for review, whether it involves juries, motions, agencies and magistrate judges, or habeas.  Available on LexisNexis.

Mastering Appellate Advocacy and Process.  KF 9050 .L66 2011 ACAD  Mastering Appellate Advocacy and Process covers the range of appellate procedures in use across the United States, from preserving error below and on appeal, filing the notice of appeal, compiling the record, as well as appealable orders and judgments, proper parties on appeal, and appellate jurisdiction. The book also covers legal analysis, drafting, and advocacy techniques used in preparing appellate briefs, as well as oral advocacy techniques in a discussion that is useful to novices and old hands.

Standards Relating to Appellate Courts, 1994 ed. KF8750.A94 10th.  This volume details the ABA's reccomendations for the administration and procedure of appellate courts.