Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Education: Databases

This guide will direct you to, and help you use, the resources you need to be successful in UIC Law's distance education courses.

On This Page

This page contains links to the resources that you are most likely to use to do research other than Westlaw and Lexis Nexis.

The databases listed on this page are not the only databases you may access through UIC Law. Find a complete list of article databases here and a complete list of specialty databases here.

Lexis Nexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg

You can access Lexis Advance, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law using the credentials provided to you and completing the sign up process. If you've lost those credentials, please contact Philip Johnson at philipj@uic.edu.

Article Databases

These resources are those that will likely be most helpful in finding articles from law reviews and other sources, including some journals from disciplines outside of law. Find a full list of article databases here.

Specialty Databases

These databases cover a range of materials, including supplemental lessons and tutorials, legislative history, tax-specific resources, and more. Find a complete list of specialty databases here. Below are a few of these databases:

Accessing Databases from Off Campus

You can access any of the databases that the library subscribes to from most places that you have an internet connection, but there is one extra step you must take to do so if you are not connected to the on-campus network.

Navigate to the database or resource you want to use through the library's website. After clicking the link, you will be asked to provide a username and password. Simply enter your NetID and password to log in through our proxy server and access subscription databases from off campus. Note that many workplaces employ firewalls that will prevent access. 

Note: You will have a separate username and password for Lexis+, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law, and CALI.